Skip Navigation Links weather.gov 
NOAA logo - Click to go to the NOAA homepage
NOAA's National Weather Service
Aviation Weather Center
  NWS logo - Click to go to the NWS homepage
     

 


USA.gov is the U.S. Government's official Web portal to all Federal, state and local government Web resources and services.
AWC Home > Testbed > Ellrod (RAP) > FYI/Help
Ellrod Index Help       
The Ellrod Index results from an objective technique for forecasting clear-air-turbulence (CAT). The index is calculated based on the product of horizontal deformation and vertical wind shear derived from numerical model forecast winds aloft.

 The deformation predictors are given by:
 Shearing deformation = DSH = (dv/dx + du/dy)
 Stretching deformation = DST = (du/dx - dv/dy)
 (where u and v are the horizontal wind components and d represents "del").
 
Total deformation = DEF = (DSH2 + DST2 )1/2
 
Convergence = CVG = -(du/dx + dv/dy)
 Vertical wind shear = VWS = (delta V / delta Z)
 
Resulting index is computed over specified layers and is given by:
 Ellrod Index = VWS x (DEF + CVG)

Reports of CAT are subjective in nature and, therefore, uncalibrated since they depend upon the pilot's perception of the degree of turbulence, which in turn depends upon the weight, speed, and aerodynamic characteristics of the aircraft being flown.


Threshold Examples*
Turbulence IntensityIndex Threshold
LGT-MDT4
MDT8
MDT-SVR12

*Threshold values are also subjective in nature and are dependent on model differences (see Ellrod and Knapp, 1992: An Objective Clear-Air Turbulence Forecasting Technique: Verification and Operational Use; Weather and Forecasting, Vol 7, pp 150-165).

Turbulence     Icing     Convection     Winds/Temps     Progs     Java Tools
METARs     TAFs     PIREPs     SIGMET/AIRMET     Satellite     Radar
Page loaded:   14:59 UTC
06:59 AM Pacific  |   07:59 AM Mountain  |   08:59 AM Central  |   09:59 AM Eastern | 4

NOAA's National Weather Service
National Centers for Environmental Prediction
Aviation Weather Center
7220 NW 101st Terr., Room 118
Kansas City, MO 64153-2371
Contact AWC Internet Services
Page last modified: July 03, 2012
Disclaimer

Credits

Glossary
Privacy Policy

About Us

Career Opportunities

This Qualified Internet Communication Provider's (QICP) servers and communication interfaces are approved by the FAA as secure, reliable, and accessible in accordance with AC 00-62.
    1) This QICP does not ensure the quality and currency of the information transmitted to you.
    2) The user assumes the entire risk related to the information and its use.